Nick Roth

Nick Roth is a saxophonist, composer, producer and educator. His work explores the liberation of improvisation from composition, the poetic syntax of philosophical enquiry and the function of music as translative epistemology. A curious predisposition and a steadfast refusal to accept the existence of boundaries between the real and the imaginary has led to collaborations with an array of international performers, composers, choreographers, directors, visual artists, festivals, poets and ensembles. Engaging in conversation with mathematical biologists, astrophysicists, ecologists and hydrologists, whilst simultaneously subsumed by an insatiable appetite for literature, his compositions interrogate the inherence of meaning in formal structure and the symbiotic resonance of words as sound and text.

In 2017 he was artist-in-residence at the European Space Agency (ESTEC) and the dlr LexIcon, in 2015 at the California Academy of Sciences and the Irish Museum of Modern Art (IMMA) and in 2014 at the Centre Culturel Irlandais, Paris. He is artistic director of the Yurodny Ensemble, a founder member of the Water Project and a partner at Diatribe Records, Ireland’s leading record label for new music.

As a performer, he has worked in three continents with many of the world’s leading musicians including

John Taylor, Savina Yannatou, Jennifer Walshe, Bobby McFerrin, Iarla Ó Lionáird, Nathalie

Forget, Guillaume Orti, M.C. Schmidt, Gavin Bryars, Tom Arthurs, Julian Arguelles, Ben Davis, Ernie

Watts, Oren Marshall, Olesya Zdorovetska, Merlin Shepherd, Mihály Borbély, Miklós Lukács,

Matthew Jacobson, Benjamin Dwyer, Lucas Niggli, Sean Carpio, Kate Ellis, Cora Venus Lunny, Crash

Ensemble, Oleg Ponomarev, Francesco Turrisi, Furio di Castri, Petar Ralchev, Zohar Fresco, Alkinoos

Ioannidis, Theodosii Spassov and Pedram Zavir Kamini.

He has collaborated in major works, often commissions and world premières, by composers

Mamoru Fujeida, Alla Zagaykevych, Jennifer Walshe, Ian Wilson, Panos Ghikas, Kamran Ince, Roger

Doyle, Dan Trueman, Judith Ring, Mel Mercier, Adrian Hart, Elena Leonova, Linda Buckley, Ed

Bennett, Henk van der Meulen, Onur Türkmen, Christian Mason, Francis Heery, Matthew

Whiteside, Amanda Feery, Piaras Hoban and Elaine Agnew.